Honors and Awards

John Friedman to join White House NEC

John N. Friedman (Cohort 14 — Berkeley/UCSF Alumni List) 

is expected to join the White House National Economic Council as a special assistant in economic policy this fall, according to Bloomberg News

Dr. Friedman is Associate Professor of Economics in the Economics Department at Brown University
July 25, 2013

Tim Buthe awarded ISA's Annual Best Book Award for 2013

Tim Bϋthe (Cohort 14 — Berkeley/UCSF Alumni List) 

was a recipient for the International Studies Association's Best Book Award for 2013.

Dr. Bϋthe is Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science and School of Public Policy at Duke University
June 17, 2013

Alan Cohen Appointed to PCORI Advisory Panel

Alan B. Cohen ( — ) 

has been appointed to the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI) advisory panel on Improving Healthcare Systems.

Created by the Affordable Care Act, each multi-stakeholder panel will "help us identify and prioritize the questions that are important to patients, caregivers, clinicians and others, and also help us evaluate all of our research programs,” according to Anne Beal, MD, PCORI’s deputy executive director on their website.
"Each panel has 21 members representing different sectors across healthcare. Thirty-eight (38%) of members represent patients, caregivers and patient advocates, 13 of whom serve on the Patient Engagement panel.  Nineteen researchers (23%) and 15 clinicians (18%) are represented across the four panels.  Other stakeholder groups represented are payers (6%), policymakers (4%), healthcare systems (4%), purchasers (2%), and pharmaceutical, medical device and diagnostic manufacturers (5%)."
Dr. Cohen is Program Director in the RWJF Scholars in Health Policy Research Program at Boston University
April 04, 2013

Rubén Rumbaut elected to the National Academy of Education

Rubén Rumbaut ( — ) 

was elected to membership in the National Academy of Education on February 6, 2013.  Dr. Rumbaut is a member of the Scholars in Health Policy Research Program National Advisory Committee.

Dr. Rumbaut is Distinguished Professor of Sociology in the School of Social Sciences at University of California, Irvine
February 12, 2013

Naomi Murakawa and Kimberly J. Morgan elected to the APSA Politics and History Section Executive Council

Naomi Murakawa (Cohort 13 — Berkeley/UCSF Alumni List) 

and Kimberly J. Morgan (Cohort 8 - Yale) were elected to the Executive Council of the APSA Politics and History Section through 2014.


Dr. Morgan is an Associate Professor, in the Department of Political Science at George Washington University.

Dr. Murakawa is Associate Professor in the Department of African American Studies at Princeton University
February 07, 2013