Honors and Awards

Craig Volden and Eric Patashnik (NAC member) Receive Teaching Awards

Craig M. Volden (ext. site) (Cohort 8 — Michigan) 

received an All-University Teaching Award, also from the University of Virginia. Eric Patashnik (NAC member) received the University Jefferson Scholars Foundation Award for Excellence in Teaching from the University of Virginia.  

Dr. Volden is Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Professor of Public Policy and Politics in the at University of Virginia
September 24, 2014

Scholars Recieve American Sociological Association Awards

Christopher A. Bail (ext. site) (Cohort 18 — Michigan) 

received the CITASA Paper Award, Communication and Information Technology Section.

René Flores (Cohort 21 — Michigan)received the Aristide Zolberg Student Scholar Award, International Migration Section.

Cybelle Fox (Cohort 14 — Berkeley/UCSF) received the Barrington Moore Book Award, Comparative and Historical Sociology Section.

Brian Gran (Cohort 4 — Yale) received a Honorable Mention, Gordon Hirabyashi Human Rights Book Award, Human Rights Section.

Colin Jerolmack (Cohort 15 — Harvard) received a Honorable Mention, Mary Douglas Prize for Best Book in the Sociology of Culture, Sociology of Culture Section.

Judith Levine (Cohort 4 — Michigan) received a Honorable Mention, William J. Goode Best Book Award, Sociology of the Family Section.

Helen Marrow (Cohort 15 — Berkeley/UCSF) received a Honorable Mention, SREM Distinguished Early-Career Award, Racial and Ethnic Minorities Section.

Dr. Bail is Douglas and Ellen Lowey Assistant Professor of Sociology and Public Policy in the Department of Sociology at Duke University
September 10, 2014

Scholars Recieve American Political Science Association Awards

Jake Bowers (ext. site) (Cohort 12 — Harvard) 

received the Warren Miller Prize, Political Methodology Section.

Shana Kushner Gadarian (Cohort 16 — Berkeley/UCSF) received the Harold F. Gosnell Prize, Political Methodology Section

Evan Lieberman (Cohort 7 — Yale) received the David Collier Mid-Career Achievement Award, Qualitative and Multi-Method Research Section.

Hans Noel (Cohort 15 — Michigan) received the Leon D. Epstein Outstanding Book Award, Political Organizations and Parties Section and the Jack Walker Award, Political Organizations and Parties Section.

Christopher Parker (Cohort 12 — Berkeley/UCSF) received the Best Book Award, Race, Ethnicity and Politics Section.

Dr. Bowers is Associate Professor in the Department of Political Science at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
September 10, 2014

Michael Greenstone Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Michael B. Greenstone (ext. site) (Cohort 5 — Berkeley/UCSF) 

was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Greenstone is Milton Friedman Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics at University of Chicago
April 28, 2014

Harold Pollack elected to National Academy of Social Insurance

Harold A. Pollack (ext. site) (Cohort 1 — Yale) 

was elected to the National Academy of Social Insurance in 2014.

Dr. Pollack is Helen Ross Professor in the School of Social Service Administration at University of Chicago
February 11, 2014