About the Program

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Scholars in Health Policy Research Program is intended to foster the development of a new generation of creative thinkers in health policy research within the disciplines of economics, political science and sociology. Over the years, the program has enabled highly qualified individuals to undertake two-year fellowships at one of three nationally prominent universities -- Harvard University, the University of California-Berkeley (in collaboration with the University of California-San Francisco); and The University of Michigan. Scholars have access to the full range of university resources and receive a stipend from the university of $89,000 per year. Limited financial support is available for research-related expenses. 

Recent graduates of Ph.D. programs in economics, political science and sociology, including junior faculty, formed the core of the program. At each site, the program brought together talented individuals—each rooted in one of the three disciplines—to learn about health, health policy, and the perspectives of the other two disciplines. Our hope has been that the Scholars will pursue careers within their disciplines, making important research contributions to future health policy in the United States.


National Program Office

The Boston University Questrom School of Business serves as the National Program Office (NPO), providing direction and technical assistance for the program. The NPO convenes the National Advisory Committee, monitors and assists program training sites, manages program communications (i.e., Working Paper Series and program websites), organizes and conducts the program's annual meeting, and maintains ties with Program alumni through regional meetings and special communications.

Staff members at the National Program Office are:

Core Staff

Alan B. Cohen Sc.D.
Program Director
Professor of Health Policy and Management, and Program Director, RWJF Investigator Awards in Health Policy Research Program
Catherine M. Player M.A.
Deputy Director
Melissa Manolis M.S.
Program Manager